Header Menu: Top-Right


Commodity Pricing

Energy NL Hosts First Annual General Meeting

(St. John’s, NL – April 26, 2022) This morning, the first Annual General Meeting of Energy NL was held. The meeting occurred virtually and included reports from the CEO and treasurer, remarks by the incoming and outgoing chairs, and results of the board of director election process.

Christian Somerton of Deacon Investments will serve as the Chair of the Board of Directors. Gerry Mayo of PF Collins was acclaimed as Vice Chair, while Sheldon Lace of Atlantic Towing was acclaimed as Treasurer. Each year, the Vice Chair of the preceding year serves as Energy NL Chair.

Chair Christian Somerton addressed Energy NL members and spoke of his priority to focus on near-term opportunities such as Energy NL members participation in the Bay du Nord project and ensuring members engage in the evolving areas of offshore wind, carbon capture, utilization, and storage (CCUS), hydrogen, and the Atlantic Loop. Outgoing chair James Parmiter thanked members for their support and commitment to Energy NL, particularly their engagement in the process to change the vision, mandate, and name of the association.

Energy NL was pleased that 10 industry members put their names forth for election for five vacant director positions, with the following individuals elected to serve two-year terms:

  • Stephanie Gruchy, Pennecon;
  • Jennifer Haley, Aker Solutions Canada;
  • Richard Mandeville, TechnipFMC;
  • Beth McGrath, McInnes Cooper; and,
  • Andrew Short, Integrated Logistics

Energy NL CEO Charlene Johnson provided an overview of industry activity during 2021, with a focus on the advocacy efforts of the association to help the offshore sector during a challenging period and the specific efforts undertaken to support the Asset Life Extension project of the Terra Nova FPSO. Treasurer Gerry Mayo also presented the audited financial statements.

The following members of the Board of Directors concluded their term and were acknowledged during the AGM for their service to Energy NL:

  • Dorothy Keating, Noseworthy Chapman;
  • Denis Mahoney, McInnes Cooper; and,
  • Greg Stacey, KCA Deutag Drilling Canada;

Charlene Johnson also recognized the long-standing contribution of outgoing Past Chair Karen Winsor of Atlantic XL who helped guide the association through the difficult initial challenges of COVID-19 and the collapse of global oil prices.

The 2021 Noia Annual Report was also released today and is available here.

Energy NL represents approximately 460 member organizations worldwide involved in the Newfoundland and Labrador energy sector. Members are active in all areas of the supply and service sector and include a diverse representation of businesses that range from offshore supply vessels and helicopters, carbon reduction and sustainable technologies, health and safety equipment and training, and engineering solutions and fabricators, to law firms and human resource agencies.